Yorkshire Van restoration

Restoration projects and Austin related chat in here please
A35revisited

Yorkshire Van restoration

Post by A35revisited »

An absolute beginner, I was told by a member that it was a "brave project". Likely to take some time as I have yet to acquire the art of welding.
The welder arrives next week and, given a bit of practice, my first job will be to attend to the grill panel, wings and valance. Unfortunately, where all these bits should meet has corroded away and I don't know what they should look like. I hope to repair the wing and grill panel and need to get a new valance but, unfortunately, don't know how best to start the job.
Advice from you experts out there would be most appreciated.
A35 4.jpg
A35 4.jpg (35.37 KiB) Viewed 7472 times
A35 interior 2.JPG
A35 interior 2.JPG (121.59 KiB) Viewed 7472 times
A35 os wing.JPG
A35 os wing.JPG (198.76 KiB) Viewed 7472 times
A35 engine compartment.jpg
A35 engine compartment.jpg (58.64 KiB) Viewed 7472 times
David Swain

Re: Yorkshire Van restoration

Post by David Swain »

Look through the restos, Neil did a really good one a while back, showing the removal of the front panel, repair of the chassis legs, radiator support panel, valance replacement and front end repairs.
He started by cutting the front panel off at the shortest point between the headlight cut outs (with a 1mm cutting disc) and the grill aperture, this gives you a shorter weld on replacement, and according to Neil is easier to get the shape, as it has a definite curve at this point.
I think that you are very brave, good luck with it! :thumbs:
David Swain. Member No. A1743
Contact for 'The Suffolk Group'.
Contact Email suffolk@austina30a35ownersclub.co.uk

A30 van 55 'R.G. Swain', A35 4 Door 59 'Little Gem', A35 2 Door 59 'The Rev' '+1'
Lee3022

Post by Lee3022 »

If your a beginner you'll be an expert welder after that, brave but very worthwhile.